What Happens Next

Can a star be put back in the sky even after it’s fallen? In this heartfelt, entertaining, and accessible middle grade novel perfect for fans of The Truth About Jellyfish, one girl makes it her summer mission to find out.

Astronomy-obsessed Abby McCourt should be thrilled about the solar eclipse her small town of Moose Junction is about to witness, but she’s not. After her older sister Blair was sent away for an eating disorder, Abby has been in a funk. Desperate to dull the pain her sister’s absence has left, she teams up with a visiting astronomer, Dr. Leo Lacamoire, to help track down his long-lost telescope. Though this is supposed to take Abby’s mind off the distance between her and Blair, what she finds may bring her closer to her sister than she ever thought possible.

S4 E6: An Interview with Claire Swinarski

We’re joined by Claire Swinarski, author of the upcoming middle-grade novel WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, which comes out on May 19th (no push backs here according to her editor). We discuss her work, just how many lakes Wisconsin and Minnesota have, and Claire’s disturbing lack of authored fanfiction.