Toil & Trouble ★★★★☆

An incredibly beautiful and diverse anthology about witches, women, love and mischief. With stories that ranged from modern-day to historical to magical realism, there's a little something for everyone in Toil & Trouble. A young adult fiction anthology of 15 stories featuring contemporary, historical, and futuristic stories featuring witchy heroines who are diverse in race, class, … Continue reading Toil & Trouble ★★★★☆

Advertisements

Mirage ★★★★★

Once in a while, there comes a book where you go into it with almost no expectations, in a genre you only occasionally read, where you go into it with an open mind. And then it consumes your entire life. In a star system dominated by the brutal Vathek empire, eighteen-year-old Amani is a dreamer. … Continue reading Mirage ★★★★★

House of Furies ★★★★★

After escaping a harsh school where punishment was the lesson of the day, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton is thrilled to find employment as a maid at a boarding house. But soon after her arrival at Coldthistle House, Louisa begins to realize that the house’s mysterious owner, Mr. Morningside, is providing much more than lodging for his guests. Far from a place of rest, the house is a place of judgment, and Mr. Morningside and his unusual staff are meant to execute their own justice on those who are past being saved.

My Plain Jane ★★★★☆

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of My Lady Jane are back with a fantastic, romantic, hilarious reimagining of Jane Eyre. Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows’s My Lady Jane was a New York Times bestseller, “an utter delight” (ALA Booklist, starred review), and “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). Now they’re back with another irreverent tale of mischief, mayhem, and romance—perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

Bruja Born ★★★★☆

Three sisters. One spell. Countless dead. Lula Mortiz feels like an outsider. Her sister's newfound Encantrix powers have wounded her in ways that Lula's bruja healing powers can't fix, and she longs for the comfort her family once brought her. Thank the Deos for Maks, her sweet, steady boyfriend who sees the beauty within her and brings light to her life.

Phoebe and Her Unicorn in the Magic Storm ★★★★★

LOVED THIS! Phoebe and Her Unicorn is one of my favorite middle grade comic series. Phoebe and Marigold decide to investigate a powerful storm that is wreaking havoc with the electricity in their town. The adults think it’s just winter weather, but Phoebe and Marigold soon discover that all is not what it seems to be, … Continue reading Phoebe and Her Unicorn in the Magic Storm ★★★★★

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett ★★★★☆

Bitter, bored, and sarcastic-Lizzie Lovett is a girl after my own heart. Want to go back to high school and talk to You: Senior Year Edition? Great. Because she's in this book. A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her … Continue reading The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett ★★★★☆