The Shadow Hour

Everything in Echo’s life changed in a blinding flash when she learned the startling truth: she is the firebird, the creature of light that is said to bring peace.

Advertisements

For This Life Only

Three minutes. Jacob Palmer died for three life-changing minutes. And when he woke up, nothing was the same.

The Darkest Corners

There are ghosts around every corner in Fayette, Pennsylvania. Tessa left when she was nine and has been trying ever since not to think about it after what happened there that last summer. Memories of things so dark will burn themselves into your mind if you let them.

The Lie Tree

Faith Sunderly leads a double life. To most people, she is reliable, dull, trustworthy—a proper young lady who knows her place as inferior to men. But inside, Faith is full of questions and curiosity, and she cannot resist mysteries: an unattended envelope, an unlocked door.

Labyrinth Lost

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Beyond the Red

Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. She’s the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her people are rioting and call for her violent younger twin brother to take the throne. Despite assassination attempts, a mounting uprising of nomadic human rebels, and pressure to find a mate to help her rule, she’s determined to protect her people from her brother’s would-be tyrannical rule.

Tricked

Things are changing at Fairy Tale Reform School. At least, that's what Gilly's heard through the Enchantasia rumor mill. Word is, notorious trickster Rumpelstiltskin has taken over management from Headmistress Flora, and he's locked down the school tighter than the Pied Piper's pants. Not that this news concerns Gilly. She's been released from FTRS and is now suffering through attending Jack of All Trades School, where she gets to learn about different kinds of shoe leather and ways to measure feet. Truly riveting stuff.

Freeks

Welcome to Gideon Davorin’s Traveling Sideshow, where necromancy, magical visions, and pyrokinesis are more than just part of the act…

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend.

A Tale of Highly Unusual Magic

Kai and Leila are both finally having an adventure. For Leila, that means a globe-crossing journey to visit family in Pakistan for the summer; for Kai, it means being stuck with her crazy great-aunt in Texas while her mom looks for a job. In each of their bedrooms, they discover a copy of a blank, old book called The Exquisite Corpse. Kai writes three words on the first page—and suddenly, they magically appear in Leila's copy on the other side of the planet. Kai's words are soon followed by line after line of the long-ago, romantic tale of Ralph T. Flabbergast and his forever-love, Edwina Pickle. As the two take turns writing, the tale unfolds, connecting both girls to each other, and to the past, in a way they never could have imagined.

Three Dark Crowns Series

Ok, so, I binged through this whole series via audio books and my unnaturally long car rides lately. I absolutely loved the first two books, but I had significantly less love for book number three.

Reign of Mist

The realm’s darkest secret is out. The cruelty of the capital and the power-hungry King Arden have scattered Bleak and her companions across the continents.

Furyborn

But pick up Furyborn immediately. Right now. Pick up this beautiful, magical book and read it. I'll wait.

The Hate U Give

Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give blew up the book community when it released in February 2017, and for good reasons. The Hate U Give is an intense look into the lives of black kids living in a racist society that's trying to keep them down. It was not only an incredibly well written story that had … Continue reading The Hate U Give

Contagion

It got in us and most are dead. Decklan flew for help. Don’t trust the kid.

The Abyss Surrounds Us

If there's anything that can be said for me, is that I love my fiction to have a hearty dosage of pirates. And queer girls. And queer pirate girls. The Abyss Surrounds Us is that, and more. So much more.For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters is just the family business. She’s been a Reckoner trainer-in-training … Continue reading The Abyss Surrounds Us

My Plain Jane

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of My Lady Jane are back with a fantastic, romantic, hilarious reimagining of Jane Eyre. Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows’s My Lady Jane was a New York Times bestseller, “an utter delight” (ALA Booklist, starred review), and “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). Now they’re back with another irreverent tale of mischief, mayhem, and romance—perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

Chameleon Moon

Before I get into my (hugely delayed) review of Chameleon Moon by RoAnna Sylver I have to talk about how I found this book first. I'm a big fan of tumblr, specifically, I enjoy wasting time on tumblr. It's a great source of procrastination. Sometime in early 2014 or late 2013, I saw a post go … Continue reading Chameleon Moon

Ghosts ★★★★★

Graphic novels have always had a special place in my heart, and Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier has taken my heart in its adorable fist and crushed it to smithereens. Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn't happy about leaving her friends for … Continue reading Ghosts ★★★★★

Eon ★★★★★

There are few books that I hold in high enough regard to give them a five star rating. The only other book I've ever done that for is Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I had a lot of trepidation going into this book, but I came out of it feeling like a kid again; like … Continue reading Eon ★★★★★

Glass Sword ★★★★★

If I could sum up my entire experience of Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard in a single gif, it would be this one: If you've spent any amount of time on this site, or listening to our Podcasts, you know how much of a fan Jess and I are of Victoria Aveyard. We fell in love with … Continue reading Glass Sword ★★★★★

The Dragon Waking ★★★★☆

An endearing tale of a girl who meets her best friend in the Nevada desert, who just so happens to be a dragon. The Dragon Waking by Grayson Towler is a heartwarming tale of friendship, adventure and a splash of magic. For thirteen-year-old Rose Gallagher, having a friend who is really a dragon and can perform … Continue reading The Dragon Waking ★★★★☆

Last Seen Leaving ★★★★☆

After reading the initial back copy, I was a little hesitant to request Last Seen Leaving, but I'm so glad that I did. Flynn's girlfriend has disappeared. How can he uncover her secrets without revealing his own? Flynn's girlfriend, January, is missing. The cops are asking questions he can't answer, and her friends are telling … Continue reading Last Seen Leaving ★★★★☆

Stalking Jack the Ripper ★★★★☆

A thrilling mystery with a terribly wrapped up ending. But most of the book was amazing and a great approach to popular period of history. Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she … Continue reading Stalking Jack the Ripper ★★★★☆

Heartless ★★★★☆

Aside from the fact that this book looks gorgeous, the writing was amazing. I expect nothing less from Marissa Meyer. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. … Continue reading Heartless ★★★★☆

Windwitch ★★★★☆

I've got so many emotions about this one guys, I was a wreck reading it from start to finish. I loved Windwitch, and it definitely lived up to the high bar Truthwitch set up. Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies… After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred … Continue reading Windwitch ★★★★☆

House of Furies ★★★★★

After escaping a harsh school where punishment was the lesson of the day, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton is thrilled to find employment as a maid at a boarding house. But soon after her arrival at Coldthistle House, Louisa begins to realize that the house’s mysterious owner, Mr. Morningside, is providing much more than lodging for his … Continue reading House of Furies ★★★★★

King's Cage ★★★★★

So not that long ago, I posted Full Series Stop, in which I was talking about how the preview for this book was making me less excited for it. I would now like to apologize for letting my enthusiasm wane. We waited for King's Cage and Aveyard delivered. In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s … Continue reading King's Cage ★★★★★