March First Impressions

Spring is so, so close! So we need to hide away from the last of the winter frost with some upcoming March titles. Let’s see what’s coming up!

Bone Crier’s Moon – Kathryn Purdie

Bone ​Criers have a sacred duty. They alone can keep the dead from preying on the living. But their power to ferry the spirits of the dead into goddess Elara’s Night Heavens or Tyrus’s Underworld comes from sacrifice. The gods demand a promise of dedication. And that promise comes at the cost of the Bone Criers’ one true love.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers, a mysterious famille of women who use strengths drawn from animal bones to ferry dead souls. But first she must complete her rite of passage and kill the boy she’s also destined to love.

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Yet when he finally captures one, his vengeance will have to wait. Ailesse’s ritual has begun and now their fates are entwined—in life and in death.

Sabine has never had the stomach for the Bone Criers’ work. But when her best friend Ailesse is taken captive, Sabine will do whatever it takes to save her, even if it means defying their traditions—and their matriarch—to break the bond between Ailesse and Bastien. Before they all die.

Bone Crier’s Moon, Kathryn Purdie
March 10th, 2020

I love me a good story about people fighting off the dead. Having to kill their one true love though? Ehhhhh.

The cover art makes me think of late 2000s book covers with too many girls in dresses. It’s a little plain and not too eye catching. I would have loved to see something more artistic. Also I’m tired of white girls (and boys) standing and looking at the reader on the cover. Gimme something more fun and that pops.

The Kingdom of Back – Marie Lu

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she’ll go to make history remember her—perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood.

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.

Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish—to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she’ll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age—her tyrannical father has made that much clear.

And as Nannerl’s hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer. He has the power to make her wish come true—but his help may cost her everything.

In her first work of historical fiction, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu spins a lush, lyrically-told story of music, magic, and the unbreakable bond between a brother and sister. 

The Kingdom of Back, Marie Lu
March 3rd, 2020

I’m a sucker for anything by Marie Lu. She had me with Legend when I first read it ages ago and I’ve kept coming back to her books since.

And so we’ve come to The Kingdom of Back, a historical fantasy about Mozart?! Color me intrigued. That tagline on the cover also makes it sound even more enticing and I’m so pumped to get my hands on this one. Though the cover itself isn’t nearly as eye-catching as I’d hoped.

Havenfall – Sara Holland

A safe haven between four realms. The girl sworn to protect it–at any cost.

Hidden deep in the mountains of Colorado lies the Inn at Havenfall, a sanctuary that connects ancient worlds–each with their own magic–together. For generations, the inn has protected all who seek refuge within its walls, and any who disrupt the peace can never return.

For Maddie Morrow, summers at the inn are more than a chance to experience this magic first-hand. Havenfall is an escape from reality, where her mother sits on death row accused of murdering Maddie’s brother. It’s where Maddie fell in love with handsome Fiorden soldier Brekken. And it’s where one day she hopes to inherit the role of Innkeeper from her beloved uncle.

But this summer, the impossible happens–a dead body is found, shattering everything the inn stands for. With Brekken missing, her uncle gravely injured, and a dangerous creature on the loose, Maddie suddenly finds herself responsible for the safety of everyone in Havenfall. She’ll do anything to uncover the truth, even if it means working together with an alluring new staffer Taya, who seems to know more than she’s letting on. As dark secrets are revealed about the inn itself, one thing becomes clear to Maddie–no one can be trusted, and no one is safe . . . 

Havenfall, Sara Holland
March 3rd, 2020

Oh man, what a beautiful cover. It’s so shiny and I love the colors and composition. Not to mention, it took me ages to see that there’s a face on it.

A magical intersection inn sounds so awesome, and a murder and a mystery and a monster to boot! I’m sure I’ll love this just like I loved Holland’s other books. I know Holland has this amazing ability to draw you in from the beginning and really set up the world on page one, so I can’t wait to get my hands on Havenfall.

Imagine Me – Tahereh Mafi

The explosive finale to the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Shatter Me series.

Juliette Ferrars.

Ella Sommers.

Which is the truth and which is the lie?

Now that Ella knows who Juliette is and what she was created for, things have only become more complicated. As she struggles to understand the past that haunts her and looks to a future more uncertain than ever, the lines between right and wrong—between Ella and Juliette—blur. And with old enemies looming, her destiny may not be her own to control.

The day of reckoning for the Reestablishment is coming. But she may not get to choose what side she fights on. 

Imagine Me, Tahereh Mafi
March 31st, 2020

You know, I’ve never read any of Tahereh Mafi’s books. I’ve heard middling things about Shatter Me and it’s never really pulled me in. Imagine Me is the sixth book in the series, and as expected, the cover means nothing to me. But I’m sure it’s dropped some serious truth bombs.

But the cover is lovely and shiny and I do love shiny things.

Harley in the Sky – Akemi Dawn Bowman

Harley Milano has dreamed of being a trapeze artist for as long as she can remember. With parents who run a famous circus in Las Vegas, she spends almost every night in the big top watching their lead aerialist perform, wishing with all her soul that she could be up there herself one day.

After a huge fight with her parents, who continue to insist she go to school instead, Harley leaves home, betrays her family and joins the rival traveling circus Maison du Mystère. There, she is thrust into a world that is both brutal and beautiful, where she learns the value of hard work, passion and collaboration. But at the same time, Harley must come to terms with the truth of her family and her past—and reckon with the sacrifices she made and the people she hurt in order to follow her dreams. 

Harley in the Sky, Akemi Dawn Bowman
March 10th, 2020

I loved Akemi Dawn Bowman’s previous books and Harley in the Sky sounds like another amazing story that will end with me sobbing.

A trapeze artist gone to a rival circus and secrets!

Also that cover is bright and wonderful and eye-catching. I can’t wait to see how this one goes.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

📘 You’ll always get an ICYMI e-mail, with all our best posts from the month
📙 In 2020, we will begin running exclusive newsletter subscriber giveaways that won’t be posted on the blog
📕 Get a heads up on interview guests so you can ask our visiting authors a question
📗 When we get excerpts from books, so do you. Everyone else has to wait until the end of the tour.

Processing…
Congrats, Book Nerd! You're in the club!

FOLLOW US


Published by Magdalyn Ann

I'm a 20 something YA/Fantasy author looking to spread my stories around the world. My strengths seem to lie in procrastination, puppies and puns. Apparently alliteration as well.

%d bloggers like this: