The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett ★★★★☆

Bitter, bored, and sarcastic-Lizzie Lovett is a girl after my own heart. Want to go back to high school and talk to You: Senior Year Edition? Great. Because she's in this book. A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her … Continue reading The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett ★★★★☆

What They Don’t Know SPOTLIGHT TOUR

Title: What They Don’t Know Author: Nicole Maggi ISBN: 9781492672654 Release Date: October 2nd Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire Praise for What They Don’t Know “An engaging, emotionaldebate on rape and abortion. Hand to readers interested in hot-button social issues or those captivated by E.K. Johnston's Exit, Pursued by a Bear (2016).” Booklist “A flawless deconstruction of the hypocrisy turning deeply … Continue reading What They Don’t Know SPOTLIGHT TOUR

October Coupons!

*post contains affiliate links Everyone loves getting books for a little less money. Use our affiliate links to help support the site and podcast and save yourself a little money.  Coupon: $5 Off $30 . Coupon: $15 Off $65Coupon: $25 Off $115 . Coupon: $200 Off $1,000 *affiliate link Get 15% Off Your Order with code BNFriends

After the Fire EXCERPT

The noise of the gunfire is still deafening, and I hear—I actually hear—bullets whizzing past me, their low whines like the speeded-up buzz of insects, but I don’t slow down, and I don’t change course. The Chapel is burning out of control, its roof engulfed by roaring fire and sending up a huge black plume of smoke, and the amplified voice of the Government booms across the compound, repeating its demand over and over again.

Toil & Trouble ★★★★☆

An incredibly beautiful and diverse anthology about witches, women, love and mischief. With stories that ranged from modern-day to historical to magical realism, there's a little something for everyone in Toil & Trouble. A young adult fiction anthology of 15 stories featuring contemporary, historical, and futuristic stories featuring witchy heroines who are diverse in race, class, … Continue reading Toil & Trouble ★★★★☆

Ruin of Stars BLOG TOUR

A hand snuffed out the light. I leaned over the edge of the greenhouse trellis, wooden beams creaking beneath me. The guards, as they had done every night I’d been spying, left soon as Lord del Aer tucked his daughter in, and they followed him through the halls of his estate. His daughter’s room was left unguarded except for the ones patrolling the grounds. He couldn’t comprehend someone killing his child to get at him.

House of Furies ★★★★★

After escaping a harsh school where punishment was the lesson of the day, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton is thrilled to find employment as a maid at a boarding house. But soon after her arrival at Coldthistle House, Louisa begins to realize that the house’s mysterious owner, Mr. Morningside, is providing much more than lodging for his guests. Far from a place of rest, the house is a place of judgment, and Mr. Morningside and his unusual staff are meant to execute their own justice on those who are past being saved.

Episode #35: Bruja Born UNCUT

https://www.podbean.com/media/share/pb-rr4nw-936360 Join us this week as we discuss Zoraida Cordova's Bruja Born, the sequel to Labyrinth Lost. Eat your heart out Lula Mortiz, we've got some opinions. This episode is the uncut episode for our patrons. Want to listen to the whole shebang AND a whole bunch of awesome interviews we have coming up? Visit patron.podbean.com/bookedallnight and support the … Continue reading Episode #35: Bruja Born UNCUT

My Plain Jane ★★★★☆

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of My Lady Jane are back with a fantastic, romantic, hilarious reimagining of Jane Eyre. Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows’s My Lady Jane was a New York Times bestseller, “an utter delight” (ALA Booklist, starred review), and “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review). Now they’re back with another irreverent tale of mischief, mayhem, and romance—perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

Bruja Born Blog Tour (Giveaway and Excerpt)

Praise for Bruja Born “Córdova keeps the flame on high as Lula and her sisters strike risky deals and face demons...Fantasy and zombie fans looking for flavor — organ-meat, in particular — will not leave disappointed.” —The New York Times “Córdova blows the world of the “Brooklyn Brujas” series wide open...A fast-paced story sure to appeal … Continue reading Bruja Born Blog Tour (Giveaway and Excerpt)

Bruja Born ★★★★☆

Three sisters. One spell. Countless dead. Lula Mortiz feels like an outsider. Her sister's newfound Encantrix powers have wounded her in ways that Lula's bruja healing powers can't fix, and she longs for the comfort her family once brought her. Thank the Deos for Maks, her sweet, steady boyfriend who sees the beauty within her and brings light to her life.

Episode #34: The Illuminae Files

https://www.podbean.com/media/share/pb-bnzy8-918c90 Viruses... IN SPACE! War... IN SPACE! Psychotic AIs... IN SPACE! You know Jess loves this series and now we're finally talking about The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. And we have some thoughts... IN SPACE!  .  Subscribe to the podcast on Podbean Follow Jessica Twitter . Facebook Follow Maggie Twitter . Facebook … Continue reading Episode #34: The Illuminae Files

Episode #32: An Interview with Chelsea Sedoti

It's interview central around here this month! Joining us this week is Chelsea Sedoti, author of The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett and the recently released As You Wish. We had a wonderful discussion about anxiety and writing and how we all handle the pressure. As You Wish What if you could ask for anything- and get it?  In the sandy Mojave Desert, Madison is a small town on the road between nothing and nowhere. But Eldon wouldn’t want to live anywhere else, because in Madison, everyone gets one wish—and that wish always comes true. Some people wish for money, some people wish for love, but Eldon has seen how wishes have broken the people around him. And with the lives of his family and friends in chaos, he’s left with more questions than answers. Can he make their lives better? How can he be happy if the people around him aren’t? And what hope is there for any of them if happiness isn’t an achievable dream? Doubts build, leading Eldon to a more outlandish and scary thought: maybe you can’t wish for happiness…maybe, just maybe, you have to make it for yourself. BUY LINKS Amazon . Barnes&Noble . BooksAMillion Chelsea Sedoti Chelsea Sedoti I’ve lived in Las Vegas, Nevada for most of my life. It’s a weird place. I’m not a fan of casinos, but I love the Mojave Desert. I also love the woods and hills and dying steel mill towns of eastern Ohio, which is where my family is from. I wish I could split my time between both places. I have a nerdy-cool husband and a goofy dog and evil cat. I read a lot of books. I think Mad Men is the best show ever made. I rock climb, even though I’m afraid of heights. I would eat red velvet cupcakes from the Cupcakery every day if I could. One of my favorite things in the world is exploring abandoned places.   I love writing because it lets me have adventures. I love writing because it is an adventure. That’s what you should know about me: I think everything should feel like an adventure. With a little effort, it can. Other Books Mentioned in This Episode The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett Amazon . Barnes&Noble . BooksAMillion Follow Magdalyn Ann Blog . Twitter . Facebook . Instagram Follow Jessica M Tuckerman Blog . Twitter . Facebook . Instagram Follow Booked All Night Twitter . Facebook Follow Chelsea Sedoti Website . Twitter . Instagram  .  .  POST CONTAINS AFFILIATE LINKS SUPPORT THE BOOKED ALL NIGHT PODCAST BY PURCHASING YOUR NEXT BOOK OR MOVIE THROUGH OUR AFFILIATE LINKS.

Episode #31: An Interview with MarcyKate Connolly

This super special (totes late but you'll love it) episode we were joined by none other than MarcyKate Connolly, author of Shadow Weaver, Monstrous, Ravenous, and more! If you're unfamiliar with her work we highly recommend Shadow Weaver. You can, of course, listen to us gush over it in Episode #25 (which we also recommend). Join us as we talk about middle grade literature, writing, Shadow Weaver, and play a little game of Burn, Re-write, Re-Read.

How You Ruined My Life Spotlight Tour

Praise for How You Ruined My Life  “Witty dialogue, ridiculous yet believable situations, and just the right note of self-deprecating introspection make this a perfect book for reluctant readers as well as those who are just not in the mood for angsty YA novels.”–School Library Journal  “Readers will howl with laughter, cringing as the author twists … Continue reading How You Ruined My Life Spotlight Tour

Giveaways

Unfortunately, we didn't meet our goal to giveaway an ARC of Children of Blood and Bone. Make sure to tune in March 8th, 2018 for our discussion on Tomi Adeyemi's debut novel. And make sure to get your pre-orders in so you can read before we spoil it.

GIVEAWAY: Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. But everything changed the night … Continue reading GIVEAWAY: Children of Blood and Bone

Episode #26: YA Movies Are in Decline?

Since the latest (and final) Maze Runner movie, The Death Cure, only grossed $23.5 million in its opening weekend, apparently that means that YA movies are a declining fad. Jess and Maggie have some thoughts on that, thoughts that include almost twenty five YA titles that were options for movies just this year, as well as books they would love to see get some screen adaptations. Preferably TV shows for Jess so she can spend the day watching an accurate 19 hour production.